Top
image credit: Pixabay

WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature potentially puts user privacy at risk

WhatsApp’s “Delete for Everyone” feature, meant to allow people to delete files they accidentally sent, works differently on iPhones than it does on Android phones, a researcher has warned. This discrepancy could place senders’ privacy at risk by leaving some media files undeleted on recipients’ iPhones.

WhatsApp has a vast install base of 1.5 billion users in over 180 countries. Most WhatsApp customers use the service daily, including for group chats with friends, family members or co-workers. Such a popular service is subject to scrutiny from privacy activists and cybersecurity researchers.

Read More on Hot for Security